Karen Mayne – State Senate 5 Nominee (Incumbent)

Senator Mayne serves as Minority Whip in the Utah Senate. She serves Kearns, Taylorsville, and West Valley City. The Senator sits on many community committees, including: United Way (Policy Board), Rocky Mountain Center for Occupational and Environmental Health, Workers Compensation Fund (Advisory Board), Prison Development Commission, Salt Lake City Airport Authority (Board), a true activist for her community. Senator Mayne has been recognized by many organizations for her legislative work. Some of these honors include: Legislator of the Year from Salt Lake Community College, Legislative Champion award from the Business Coalition, Eleanor Roosevelt Award (Distinguished Woman), Hall of Fame Award from Chamber West, Workplace Safety Award from the Labor Commission and AFL-CIO, and Conference of Occupational Health Providers Award for Workplace Safety Legislation. She has also been honored by Utah Highway Patrol as an honorary trooper and recognized by the Utah Fire Caucus.