Utah Democratic Party

2019 Taylor & Mayne Awards Dinner – Speaker Announced

We are thrilled to announce that Congresswoman Deb Haaland (D-NM) will be our special guest speaker at the 2019 Taylor & Mayne Awards Dinner next month.
Congresswoman Haaland, a member of the Pueblo of Laguna Tribe, is one of the first two Native American women elected to Congress. Haaland is a powerful voice for public lands and is leading the efforts on legislation to address climate change and the epidemic of missing and murdered indigenous women. She has also served as the New Mexico Democratic State Party Chair, as a dedicated community leader in New Mexico, and is a rising national political leader. Read more here.


Q2 State Central Committee Meeting Announced

The Q2 State Central Committee meeting is scheduled to be held in the Western Region the evening of Monday, May 20, 2019. Daughters of Pioneers Museum, Nephi. Registration begins at 6:30 P.M., Meeting at 7:00 P.M.


2019-2021 UDP Exec Candidate List

Be on the lookout for candidate pages next week! The below list is in alphabetical order, by party office:

State Party Chair
Robert Comstock
Wayne Holland
Jeff Merchant
Becky Moss
Daisy Thomas (Incumbent)
State Party Vice Chair
Kathie Darby
Deb Henry
Nadia Mahallati
F. Jay Seegmiller
Archie A. Williams III
State Party Secretary
Michael Bryant (Incumbent)
Julie Camara
James Kelley
Liam Lohan
Katherine Torres
State Party Treasurer
Sheila Srivastava (Incumbent)
Dixie Weeks


2019 Taylor & Mayne Awards Nominations ** CLOSED **

Todd Taylor and Ed Mayne were pillars in the Democratic Party who believed in the importance of growing the grassroots community and the Democratic base in Utah. They were tireless advocates for the everyday Utahn, the everyday Democrat, and they were fundamental in getting our party to where it is today.

Every year, in their honor, the Utah Democratic party recognizes two activists without whom our party wouldn’t be the same. To nominate a Dem champion, please read more here.

SAVE THE DATE! The Taylor & Mayne Awards Dinner will be held Friday, June 21, 2019. Details to come.


2019 State Organizing Convention Announced

The Utah Democratic Party’s 2019 State Organizing Convention will be held on Saturday, June 22, 2019, at Park City High in Summit County. Chair Daisy Thomas has appointed former Salt Lake County Democratic Party Chair, Clare Collard, to serve as the Convention Chair. Details and schedules will be forthcoming.

This is an organizing year and that means Party Leadership elections. Utah Democratic Party State Delegates will be electing a new administration at the 2019 State Organizing Convention on June 22, 2019. The elected positions available to file your Statement of Candidacy are:

State Party Chair 

State Party Vice-Chair 

State Party Secretary

State Party Treasurer

Currently filed candidates can be viewed here. Specifics outlining the roles of each of the above listed positions are located within our Constitution and Bylaws. The 2017-2019 (current) Executive Committee roster can be viewed here.


Statement of Candidacy

This form serves as a statement of candidacy for the 2019-2021 Utah Democratic State Party Executive Committee.
  • Please tell us about yourself

Please use the form above or you may submit your name, address, phone, email address, and position you are filing for to UDP Executive Director, Alex Cragun, at acragun@utdem.org between 12pm, Monday, February 11, 2019, through 1:59pm, Saturday, April 6, 2019.

Additional Elected Member positions on the State Executive Committee that will be voted upon at the 2019 Utah Democratic Party State Convention are:

Chair of Chairs, who is elected by the County Chairs and Vice Chairs to serve as their voice and vote on the State Executive Committee.

Chair of Issue Caucuses, who is elected by the State Party Caucus Chairs and Vice Chairs to serve as their voice and vote on the State Executive Committee.

Voting Member positions on the State Executive Committee without elections at this time:

DNC National Committeewoman and DNC National Committeeman elections occur at the 2020 Utah Democratic Party State Convention. These positions are four-year term commitments in which two members of opposite genders are elected to represent Utah to the Democratic National Committee. These positions were elected at the 2016 Utah Democratic Party State Convention and are currently held by the Honorable Jenny Wilson and Charles Stormont.

House Representative is a position that is held by an elected or appointed representative of the Utah House Democratic Caucus. It is currently held by Representative Jennifer Dailey-Provost (SLC).

Senate Representative is a position that is held by an elected or appointed representative of the Utah Senate Democratic Caucus. It is currently held by Jon Hennington.